January Book Haul

I didn’t think I bought too many books this month. Turns out, ‘not too many’ in my world means 19 books.

I TOLD YOU I HAD A PROBLEM!

Oh well.

This year, I’ve made a conscious decision to read more non-fiction – specially any books that will help me improve myself – personally and with regards to work (marketing). So if you have any suggestions, please comment below and let me know!

Books I boughtNonfiction

  1. Everybody Writes by Ann Handley – an apparent ‘must’ for all content writers
  2. Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach – curiosity got the best of me
  3. Pax India by Shashi Tharoor – our learned albiet controversial Member of Parliament sheds light on Indian diplomacy
  4. Hindutva or Hind Swaraj by U.R. Ananthamurthy – my way of trying to understand this whole ‘nationalist’ movement we have going on in India
  5. The Emperor of Maladies : A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee – because it’s a Pulitzer and I’ve heard great things
  6. The Life & Times of The Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson – heard so much about Bryson, needed to buy a book to check him out
  7. How To Win Friends & Influence People by Dale Carnegie – an oldie but a goodie
  8. The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success by Deepak Chopra – it was on sale, don’t judge me

Jan non fiction

Fiction

  1. Barkskins by Annie Proulx – Shipping News was a great book, hence
  2. Nutshell by Ian McEwan – McEwan is a nutjob and his books are a hit or miss but they do entertain
  3. Atonement by Ian McEwan – reason stated above
  4. Difficult Loves by Italo Calvino – Calvino is a damn genius and it’s short stories, so…
  5. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – been eyeing this for a while, want to get out of my comfort zone – hence, science fiction. Also GGRM loves it and I trust the dude
  6. Room by Emma Donoghue – I have this thing where I need to read the book before I see the movie, and I really want to see the movie
  7. The Dark Tower : Gunslinger by Stephen King – a close friend of mine INSISTED that I read this
  8. The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan – internationally acclaimed and an Indian author? YES PLEASE!
  9. Bastard of Istanbul by Elif Shafak – just read Forty Rules of Love last month and fell in love, needed more
  10. The Alchemist : a graphic novel by Paulo Coelho – it’s a graphic novel of a book I love…why do I have to even explain?
  11. Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets (illustrated) by JK Rowling – this one is for my kids (when & if I ever have them)

img_1389

2

  • The Illustrated version of Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets of course. I mean, I’m a DIE HARD POTTERHEAD and I will acquire almost anything Harry Potter if I find it. So, this shouldn’t be a surprise.
  • When I heard that The Alchemist has a graphic novel version of it, I had to have it. One, because I was curious and two, because the book is amazing.
  • All the blogs, all the articles, all the CEOs have been recommending Everybody Writes. Plus, I really want to improve my writing skills.
  • Elif Shafak should win an award – any award. Her writing is brilliant and touches my heart. So excited for Bastard of Istanbul.

That’s all I have for now. Hopefully next month I won’t splurge as much (LOL) and this will be a shorter post!

P.S. This was my first ‘book haul’ post. If you have any suggestions/feedback, please do comment below and let me know! I’m new this. Welp!

P.P.S. Make sure you subscribe to this blog! I know I’m new, but I have lots coming up! Reviews, hauls, general bookish nerd advice… you name it. Just scroll and find the subscription button. You won’t regret it!

 

check instagram

 

1 thought on “January Book Haul”

  1. Hi Sant! I’m afraid I can’t really help you with the marketing part, but I looked through my shelves and found some books that might interest you. Hopefully there’s something here you like, and best of luck with the self improvement! πŸ™‚

    – Alexander Hamilton – Dare I say it’s waiting in the wings for you? πŸ˜‰
    – Angela’s Ashes – Depressing but fulfilling story of a young boy growing up in poverty in early-20th century Ireland with his family, and the ways and people he finds to survive
    – Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life – great even if you’ve never had much interest in surfing. Won the Pulitzer!
    – Boy and Going Solo – not sure if you’ve ever read much/any Roald Dahl, but I remember really liking this growing up
    – Maus – a wonderful exploration of a couple surviving World War II and living through what happened next
    – DisneyWar – A bit of an out-of-nowhere one, but even if I haven’t read in years I still remember this amazing tale of creativity, conflict, and what really went on in the not so Magic Kingdom.
    – Doctor Who: The Writer’s Tale – The Final Chapter – if you like Doctor Who then this is pretty much essential, it’s a year of emails from one of the main men talking about running, writing, living Doctor Who and a hundred other things and it’s absolutely brilliant
    – Dreams from My Father – I didn’t like this book as much as a lot of people did, but I took a look through your Instagram and I saw you mention Obama a bit and was surprised to then find out you hadn’t read this yet! (I’m Paul on Goodreads btw :))
    – Fermat’s Last Theorem – Should still be great even if you don’t know much about maths at all! (I’d also say Alex’s Adventures in Numberland is pretty good if you’re looking for more, they’re both fairly well geared towards newcomers and not-so-newcomers alike)
    – The Girl with Seven Names: A North Korean Defector’s Story & Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea – personal and engrossing stories of North Korea, though Nothing to Envy has more of a sweeping social history thing going on as well
    – Good Women of China – Excruciating but still somehow vital
    – H is for Hawk – Ranbling but brilliant exploration of love, grief, memory, moving on, and the wonder of nature
    – How to Be a Woman – Caitlin Moran takes no prisoners, and makes a whole lot of sense while doing so. See also Men Explain Things to Me and Other Essays for a slightly similar and slightly calmer book that’s still pretty much just as good
    – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    – Long Walk to Freedom – it’s Nelson Mandela, man was a legend, what else do I need to say?
    – Making of Star Wars if you liked A New Hope
    – Midnight in the Good of Evil – a weird but lovely mix of travel memoir and true crime, like so many things you’ve seen before and yet not quite like anything you’ve ever read either
    – NeuroTribes: The Legacy of Autism and How to Think Smarter About People Who Think Differently
    – Persepolis – Satrapi’s simple style works brilliantly to emphasise the horror and beauty, and even if it gets a little rambly and awkward sometimes, it’s a genuine modern classic
    – Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking – not quite as good as some of the rest of these, but still very interesting
    – Shakespeare on Toast and Shakespeare: The World as a Stage if you like the Bard and the Thunderbolt Kid doesn’t turn off πŸ˜‰

    Haha wow, I thought I was bad when I used to buy books like no-one’s business, but even at my worst I don’t think I ever bought 19 in a single month πŸ˜€ Not that I can blame you of course, all of these look really interesting – and such lovely pictures! I’ll tell you one thing too though, I read Station Eleven in 2015 and it was hands down one of the best books I read all year. Maybe even *the* best. Like I don’t wanna talk it up too much but it was good from the beginning and while I was reading it I kept thinking that it couldn’t possibly stay this good, but (for the most part) it did. It really did. I’m not sure I would quite call it science fiction (then again sci-fi is a pretty big place) but… I think I’ll let you figure out for yourself what it is. Hope you love it πŸ™‚ Oh, and Room is great too! Then again I’m a little biased when it comes to this book ;D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

