The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower #1) by Stephen King

Pages: 238
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
Read: February 2017
Rating: 4/10

Adjectives To Describe This Book: Action, Adventure, Confusing, Vague.

Read If You Are: Into Fantasy books, Stephen King and plan to finish the Dark Tower Series.

This 1980s novel written by the much-loved Stephen King is what I would like to call a ‘Fantasy novel set in the Old West with a Tolkien-esque touch’.

The first of seven books of the Dark Tower Series, The Gunslinger is an introduction to Roland – the last gunslinger in a world we do not know. He’s on a mission to find the ‘Man in Black’ and seek the Dark Tower, and will annihilate anyone or anything that comes in its way.

The story is essentially just that. Roland is a gruff man, rich and lord like, who has money to spare and travels with his guns by his side. But as you read the book and see him interact with various characters – both past and present, you see other sides to him.

This book confused the crap out of me. When I started reading it, I didn’t understand anything. ANYTHING. Who was this gunslinger? Why was he chasing after a Man in Black? Why was no more information given out? Why is there so much sex involved? And why does it feel so rape-y? I can’t be the only one confused about that last question.

Sure, as the book progressed the questions were answered and I know I have 6 more books to read to completely understand it. However, I expected more from Stephen King’s ‘magnum opus’. The writing was strange and disjointed for me. Sometimes it was simple and sometimes it was complicated. Something about it just didn’t work.

This probably isn’t going to be my favourite book and is definitely not going to be a book I would recommend on it’s own. I would be able to comment on it only when I read the rest of the series. However, it isn’t a bad book. If you do plan to read it, just be ready for lots of ambiguity and lots of question marks going off in your head.

I feel like I’m going to get a lot of hate from the Dark Tower fans that read this. I’m sorry y’all, I tried! I did buy ‘The Drawing of The Three’ and plan to read it soon though.

Favourite Quotes:

“Time’s the thief of memory.”

“Was there ever a trap to match the trap of love?”

“Do any men grow up or do they only come of age?”

check instagram

 

3 thoughts on “The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower #1) by Stephen King”

  1. I tried reading this series after my close friend was raving about it. I got to book three and had to give up… for now. Eventually I’ll go back. There has to be a reason people love the series so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

