The Princess Saved Herself This Time by Amanda Lovelace

Pages: 155
Genre: Non-Fiction, Poetry
Read: March 2017
Rating: 3/10

Adjectives To Describe This Book: Boring, A bit much

Read If You Are: I really can’t give you a reason

I bought this book keeping ‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur in mind. That was clearly a bad idea.

I can’t imagine the sort of life Amanda Lovelace has gone through, but if her poetry is a witness to her life then it was quite a ride. However, unlike Rupi Kaur who also used personal experiences to write her poetry, this wasn’t quite so powerful. There were only a handful of couplets that I liked and none that truly spoke to me.

This poetry collection is divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. It speaks of a volatile relationship with her parents and loved ones, grief and loss and learning to be okay with yourself – loving yourself.

Content wise, I think her heart is in a good place and I agree with what she’s saying, but it just didn’t work for me. A quick read though the writing seemed forced, contrived and I admit I ran through the pages waiting for it to get over.

So I can’t in good conscious recommend this book to you. However, if you do find a free copy around and wish to go through it, it is a quick read.

I guess to each their own?

Favourite Quotes:

“I never expected death to be my most faithful companion, but she is the only one who will come without being asked.”

“All the oceans and galaxies did not conspire together to create me so I could reproduce for you.”

“I am a tigress who has earned her softer than velvet stripes.” – an ode to stretch marks

 

Leave a Reply

