March Book Haul

Hey hey hey! I think I did pretty well this month! Only 11 books this time.

My wallet being almost empty was a great contributing factor but I managed. I have in fact, sacrificed meals because I wanted to get these books at the amazing discount prices that they were on.

It’s fine, I know. I have a problem. But the first step is awareness and I feel like I have that.

  1. Unbound: 2000 Years of Indian Women’s Writing – divided into eleven sections, this book is a collection of some of the most significant writing by Indian women.
  2. Night by Elie Wiesel – this short tiny tale is a heartbreaking account of the authors teenage years in Nazi death camps. Lauded to be a masterpiece of its time and genre.

  1. Wizard of the Crow by Ngugi Wa Thiong’o – my growing love for African authors was the main driving factors of this purchase. The author is apparently one of the most widely read African writers of our time so naturally, I had to read his work!
  2. The Liberation of Sita by Volga – there were some parts of the Ramayana that never made sense to me even as a kid. Volga (P Lalitha Kumari) through this book ‘corrects’ the wrongs done to women in the tale.
  3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – having heard so much about the book from various channels, I just had to read it. (P.S. I read it and I would recommend this book to everyone wholeheartedly)
  4. Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut – I’m slowly warming up to the idea of ‘dystopia’ and the genre of science fiction, hence.
  5. Kafka On The Shore by Haruki Murakami – I think I’m one of those few people who actually don’t like Murakami. Never read Kafka On The Shore and this is one book that everyone raves about. Hopefully this changes my mind?
  6. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Dias – I have always been partial to a Pulitzer winner because most of the times they have been excellent books. I have no doubt that this will be too.
  7. Secret Lives of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd – Apart from being a ‘Penguin Drop Cap’ edition, this is a book that has been in my ‘to be read’ section on GoodReads for a while now. Can’t wait!
  8. Native Speaker by Chang-rae Lee – a book that speaks to a very important topic of immigration and searching for one’s identity.
  9. Butterfield 8 by John O’Hara – heard so much about this, not because of the book but because of the movie.

  • A Monster Calls is a book I’d been wanting to read for a while now. My bookstagram feed at one time was inundated with posts of the book singing it’s praise. I had to see what it was about.
  • I’m on a mission to read more books by Indians. Unbound is the perfect remedy for that.
  • As a child I never understood why certain things were happening to the women in the Ramayan. When I heard there was a book called ‘The Liberation of Sita‘, the feminist in me had to read it.

So that’s it for March. Apologies for the post being put up half way through April, but hey! I was reading. 😉

P.S. It’s been a couple of months so please make sure you subscribe to this blog! I know I’m new, but I have lots coming up! Reviews, hauls, general bookish nerd advice… you name it. Just scroll and find the subscription button. You won’t regret it!

4 thoughts on “March Book Haul”

  1. Ahhhhh, I’m so glad you liked A Monster Calls so much! 😀 I don’t mean to be a snoop or be a repetitive shallow old coot by just saying to go and read all of his books now (especially as I haven’t read that many), but/so I looked through your shelves to see what you have and it looks like you haven’t added The Knife of Letting Go, which What Is Wrong With You?! Although in fairness it’s fairly different than A Monster Calls is. (There’s The Crane Wife as well, but eh, that one’s not really *that* great tbh even if I did like it a lot.)

    I’m also gonna go a little off base (well, not too off base coz it is pretty relevant, but at the same time I’m not sure how findable these will be for you) and say as well however, that you should totally go read all of Siobhan Dowd’s books now! She came up with the idea for A Monster Calls, you see, but she passed away before she could write it and so it was given to Ness to write. My favourite book of hers, though I haven’t read them all (this is also the one I’d say is closest to Monster as well) is Bog Child, this glorious tragic coming of age story about history and defining yourself again society (I think) set during the Northern Ireland Troubles, though Solace of the Road and The London Eye Mystery were also good. That last one is for more of a children’s audience though, but so was A Monster Calls I guess. 🙂

    Ah, Ngugi wa Thiong’o, that takes me back! In a very weird way though, I would see some of his books all the time at my library when I used to go there before I moved away, and I was always interested in them (admittedly partly because his name was Ngugi wa Thiong’o ;)) and Wizard of the Crow was one of them, but for some reason I never read any of them, and now I think it might be too late. :/ Maybe some day though… But anyway, until then, I hope you like it! 🙂

    Now The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is a book I like a *lot*, it was one of the best I read two years ago, but I’m pretty sure not everyone likes it, and I understand why. It’s not really like any book I’ve ever read, it’s very… exuberant and full of Spanish, it can be pretty overwhelming to begin with – in fact it’s a pretty overwhelming book in general! Oscar Wao himself is also kind of… I don’t really know how to describe him, he was a bit of a schlub and he rubbed me up the wrong way sometimes, though I’m pretty sure he wasn’t written badly or anything like that. Book’s still great, no doubt about that. 😀

    I was gonna check your shelves again to see what Murakami you’ve read, but I ended up finding it through your Instagram instead ^^ I haven’t read Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman – haven’t read any of his short stories actually! I really should though… now again Kafka on the Shore I like a lot, but I’m gonna be really interested to see what you think of it, it’s a weird one. Like, Murakami’s weird in general, but maybe Kafka especially. It’s also kind of long winded sometimes, and sometimes it’s not even interesting enough even when it’s being weird. I still think it’s great, mind, always have pretty much – read it after the (pretty disappointing) 1Q84 and I was blown away, and when I read it again last year I didn’t like it *quite* as much, but I responded to it a lot all over again, and like a lot of people I think it all came together for me even more the second time around. Hopefully that doesn’t make you think it’s never going to make sense for you when you read it though! :p 🙂

    (Oh and The Secret Life of Bees is very good too ^^ :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I’m so sorry I didn’t reply earlier. But I wanted to let you know that I truly appreciate your comments and your efforts to help me read ‘better’. 🙂

      The Monster Calls is definitely going down as one of my favourite books ever. On your recommendation I have put The Knife of Letting Go and Siobhan Dowd’s books on my TBR.

      Ngugi wa Thiong’o is such a fun name isn’t it? I’ve heard so much about this book. I hope you find it and read it soon 🙂

      The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is full of Spanish? Oh wow. Language barrier! Oh well, Google to the rescue! I’ve heard lots of great things about this book. So I’m definitely going to read it this month. I think.

      Murakami – I don’t know. That dude is weird. He has great tweets but I don’t know about his books. I think what pissed me off was the fact that I was reading the book on my birthday vacation and didn’t take any other book with me and then I was just stuck with it. And thus the hatred grew… lol, anyway. Heard good things about Kafka On The Shore. Hopefully, won’t be that bad.

      And thanks so much for commenting and helping me out again.

      Best,
      Smriti

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Smriti! It’s no problem that you didn’t reply sooner, those books won’t read themselves after all 😉 Besides it’s not like I can say much either when it’s taken me a few days to reply back to you. Pesky work and life getting in the way of the *really* important things, you know? 😉 🙂

        Aw, thank you! 🙂 I’m always happy to help (or at least try to help) – it’s what friends are for after all, even if they’re only Goodreads friends 😉 🙂 (On that note, if you’ll forgive a bit of self-indulgent complaining, I know I should be more active, or I’d like to be often [same thing maybe?], but whenever I see people’s statuses all I can think of to say is something like “Great book!” which just feels redundant, or “Hmmm, I dunno, not so great…” which just feels mean. It’s something I’ll figure out some day maybe. 🙂 Anyway, moving on…)

        Yes, I saw you added them on my Goodreads dash! Hope you like them, whenever you get around to them 🙂

        I think going after Wizard of the Crow is gonna have to wait until I finish all the books I even own, never mind finding a library and signing up for it and hoping that it’s there! Then again I guess I could always get it through inter-library request… Part of me does want to read Petals of Blood and A Grain of Wheat first though, if only because those are the ones I saw in my library first. There are worse problems to have I suppose. 😉 🙂

        At least with the Spanish you’ll largely be in the same boat as a lot of people who read this? I dunno, I’m trying to find an upside and I’m not sure I thought it through enough. On the other hand (let me just check what I said up above so I don’t repeat myself), I read it without Google and without much Spanish, and I feel like I got through it pretty fine. I think after a while I just switched to instinct and trusted context to see me through? I don’t really remember, but either way I’d say it’ll mostly be worth it (hopefully), even if it gets pretty difficult sometimes.

        Ha, I had no idea Murakami was on Twitter! Shows you how much I know :p But yes, having only one book on your holiday when you’re not really feeling it, I can see it just making the whole situation worse. Heck, having only one book when you’re going on holiday is a bad situation as it is without making it even worse! Hope you were able to enjoy your vacation despite that though 🙂 And yes, Murakami is pretty much the definition of weird, but I don’t mind weird, and I think even at his worst he has something to say. And Kafka definitely isn’t short on that. 🙂 (In both senses :D)

        It’s really no problem Smriti, any time! And happy reading. 🙂

        Take care,
        Paul

        Like

Leave a Reply

